Gender disappointment 

Unfortunately, this is a thing. Many a time I’ve had arguments about this. Women saying if you have this you shouldn’t be a mother. I’m not saying it would be okay to abort a baby because of it’s gender or to disown it. What I’m saying is that it’s a mental illness. You can’t control it. The pang of disappointment, resentment and then the overwhelming feeling of guilt. Up to week 16 I brought only girls clothes… I had an instinct. The thought I’d always had. When I was little I used to think of the mother daughter bond I’ve not particularly had with my mum. I got a boy and when I was told that I was over the moon. I didn’t even know I wanted a boy until I got that news. He’s my whole soul, my little man and I thank God everyday I have my little boy. A girl would have been nice but I feel like I couldn’t love anyone as much as I love my little boy.

Leave a Reply

